AIRAH has announced the winners of the AIRAH Awards 2021 at a black-tie gala event in Sydney. Leading figures from Australia’s HVAC&R building services industry took a long-awaited opportunity to reunite and raise a toast to the standout people, projects and products in the sector.

The winners, selected across 13 categories, exemplify the industry’s efforts to make the built environment more sustainable, safe, healthy and inclusive. AIRAH’s highest honour, the James Harrison Medal, was awarded to Doctor Paul Bannister, F.AIRAH, for his work improving energy efficiency in buildings, particularly through NABERS and the National Construction Code.

AIRAH CEO Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH, says the event, rescheduled due to the pandemic, was worth the wait.

“We appreciate the importance of meeting in person,” says Gleeson, “especially for an event like the AIRAH Awards, where the aim is to applaud the best and brightest of our industry, and raise a glass in their honour.

“This year in particular you could feel the anticipation. It was the first time many of us had seen each other face to face for almost two years, and we all had much to share.”

Gleeson says that there was also plenty of positive conversation about the future.

“We recognise that the biggest challenges lie ahead – and we must face them in a united way. Whether it be reducing the carbon intensity of our buildings or improving indoor air quality, we will need to collaborate more than ever over the coming years and decades. Events like the AIRAH Awards help affirm our ties and common goals, and remind us of the key role we are poised to play.

“To the winners and the finalists of the AIRAH Awards 2021, I offer my congratulations.”

The winners of the AIRAH Awards 2021 are:

Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade

ESBS – ACT Schools HVAC Upgrades

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

TAFE NSW – Refrigeration Teaching Section Ultimo College

Excellence in HVAC&R Research

Keivan Bamdad Masouleh – Model Predictive Control (MPC) to Improve HVAC Operation

Excellence in Innovation (Sponsored by Mitsubishi Electric)

Glaciem Cooling Technologies – Advancing Renewable Energy with Thermal Energy Storage

Excellence in Refrigeration

Glaciem Cooling Technologies – ARENA-WF Montague;
Scantec Refrigeration Technologies – Fernhurst (joint winners)

Excellence in Sustainability (Sponsored by Superior Training Centre)

Aurecon and A.G. Coombs – 25 King Street

Future Leader (Sponsored by A.G. Coombs)

Iain Stewart, Affil.AIRAH

Innovative use of Renewable Energy in HVAC&R

Glaciem Cooling Technologies – Advancing Renewable Energy with Thermal Energy Storage

Product of the Year (Sponsored by HVAC&R Search)

Camfil – Kaire Unit

Student of the Year – Higher Education or Research

Ashfaque Chowdhury, Affil.AIRAH – Central Queensland University

Student of the Year – Trade (Sponsored by LG)

Jessica Lonsdale, Stud.AIRAH – BHP Nickel West/South Metropolitan TAFE

WR Ahern Award (Sponsored by Ecolibrium)

“Effective integration of polymer plate heat exchangers – A simulation study for evaluating their use in tall commercial office buildings” – Dr Chris Menictas, M.AIRAH; Arjun Adhikari, M.AIRAH; Professor Guan H. Yeoh; and Dr Victoria Timchenko (Ecolibrium June/July, 2020)

James Harrison Medal

Paul Bannister, F.AIRAH

For more information about the AIRAH Awards 2021, including the winners and finalists, go to airah.org.au/awards.

AIRAH thanks the Awards Gala Sponsor, Daikin, as well as individual awards sponsors Mitsubishi Electric, Superior Training Centre, A.G. Coombs, LG, HVAC&R Search and Ecolibrium.


Source link